DIY: Tote Bag

I made my very own tote bag for this weekend’s trip to DC and I’ve got to say… it was much easier than I thought it would be! I think I might start making these more often. Christmas gifts, anyone? ;]

Supplies:
1 yd of fabric [I did two 1/2 yards of diff fabric]
thread
sewing machine [10x easier]

First, I cut two pieces of each fabric into the size I wanted my tote sides to be!
I used a magazine for reference, as I wanted to fit my road trip essentials in this bag! I also decided the kitties would be the inside fabric, so I put them on the inside, with the back of both fabric designs touching.

Next, I cut out the pieces for the bottom and sides. I used more fabric for the bottom, so it would be a bit sturdier. =]

And last but not least, I folded up some fabric to use as tote handles.

Then I stopped taking photos and sewed everything around their edges, back to back, before proceeding to sew together the back section. I sewed it inside out, so any mistakes or raw edges would end up inside the bag.

Finally, I sewed down a small flap at the top, so the top looked coiffed. haha. Love that word. Coiffed. Anywho, then I sewed the handles to the inside of the bag. And voila!

Beautiful, beautiful tote bag that I am now massively in love with. ❀ ❀ ❀
Seriously so proud of this one, guys!!

And then I got some kitten cuddles. Peach was definitely impressed with my work! =] I love hearing her praises.

5 responses to “DIY: Tote Bag

  1. Very cute! I want to show this DIY to my wife and have her make me one! ..lol She has a sewing machine and is really good at sewing πŸ™‚

  2. It’s an amazing feeling to create something, I love it too! πŸ™‚
    Very cute bag. I hope you stay addicted to check out more projects soon. πŸ˜€

    x

  3. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

