DIY: Rag Rug

Rags by Sock Monkey's awesome looking finished product!

This is my take on a rag rug tutorial I found over at Rags by Sock Monkey! Mine didn’t turn out as great as hers, but that’s why you’re here, right? To see how a normally non-crafty gal can work her very own DIY magic! =)

First things first, you gather a whole lot of old shirts and rip them into strips! I didn’t take a photo of this process [Lost may or may not have distracted me]… but you want to rip or cut them in longish strips, about 2 inches each!

Then you take a larger t-shirt and cut small cuts in a row through the shirt! Next, you thread a strip through the holes and tie it on!! This is what it ends up looking like on the back:

And voila!Β  It took much longer than I thought and isn’t as large as I’d like it, but there’s always next time, right? =)

4 responses to “DIY: Rag Rug

  1. I LOVE THIS! I think we should make one at The Scottish Play when we’re not on stage. I’m thinking goodwill πŸ™‚ And finding the biggest T-shirt we can for the base πŸ™‚

    Is it soft and squishy to stand on?

    I still think you should make it a bed for Franklin (and I’m still obsessed with your crayon art, FYI).

  2. I’m going to try this tomorrow! It looks really cute πŸ™‚

  3. i love yours! such good colors!

Leave a Reply

