Why I feel so strongly about eReaders

This article might be a little controversial. You may not like what I have to say, so no offense to anyone who does not agree. This is just the way I feel about it, not meant to insult anyone by any means!

Alright, let’s start this… technology. I freakin’ love it! I love my iPhone, my laptop, television on dvd, facebook, twitter, blogs. It’s safe to say that I dig this technological age we are in right now. The instant I started having an issue with it was when they started messing with my stuff… BOOKS.

Whyyyyyyyyyyyy? Why must we mess with one of the things I feel the most attached to and loving towards in the ENTIRE world? The one thing that saved me in my teens and one of my favorite things in life.

It’s not just about the way I feel when I open a used book I’ve purchased somewhere, or the smell of the pages when you flip through them to find your page. It’s about the sheer volume of them. What it means to own a library of your own. The way you can flip through to see how many pages until the chapter ends without losing your place. Not to mention bookmarks and how nerds like me use them to express ourselves.

I love taking my book outside on a sunny day and not having to worry about the glare on the screen. Getting away from my computer screen is just that… getting away. I stare at words on the screen 8 hours everyday at work. Part of my love of the ACTUAL novel has to do with that escape from the world around me. How can I read Harry Potter from that gadget and actually believe myself to be immersed in a world without the internet and Facebook friends?

I’m not telling you what decision to make, each person should make their own, but I pledge to read the printed word and I’m not going to be giving up a chance at my very own Beauty and the Beast-esque library anytime soon [see above with my childhood dreams].

9 responses to “Why I feel so strongly about eReaders

  1. I completely agree! Someone gave me a Kindle a few years ago, and I have barely touched it. It just feels too detached. I need to flip pages, in the actual sense. Both my hubby and I love books in their original physical glory. The room I’m typing this in has books from floor to ceiling πŸ™‚ My favorite summer memories as a kid were going to the library and stocking up for the week. Such a perfect smell!

  2. To have a room in one’s home just devoted to books is a wonderful dream. To have one of those sliding ladders so you can reach the books on the top just reminds me of old movies and charming mansions with libraries. I also will never give up books for all the reasons you mentioned. I don’t want to stare at a computer screen and I want to go sit outside under a tree to read it.

  3. Sarah love! While I love bound books too (there are quite a few that I will never get rid of) there’s a lot to be said about eBook readers. Having moved a few too many times in the past few years I have given up much of my physical book library, its just not practical, but I have kept a few hardcovers that I love too much to part with. That being said, I’ve fallen in love with my Kindle Touch. I too can read in full sun without glare (sorry iPad & Nook users, y’all aren’t so lucky haha), my pages are automatically bookmarked when I stop reading/let my Kindle go to sleep. I am missing out on the page flipping experience, though touching the screen to “flip” pages is close enough for me, and there is no old book smell (love that too!) but I admit I haven’t bought a physical book in ages now that I own and travel with a Kindle. I admire your resolute opinion about eBook reading devices though, to each her own πŸ˜‰ & I LOVE & MISS YOU! ❀

  4. I agree with you, to a point. When we travel to China to visit, I often have time by myself (I don’t speak the language, The Cat does). I will sometimes pass going to gatherings and meetings because I get lost in conversations. As a result, I used to pack five or six books to pass the time. TV has similar language issues. The nook has dramatically cut down on the volume and weight of packing for travel. Although I would prefer to have real books, my nook is a practical compromise. No argument, just my opinion. πŸ™‚

  5. you crack me up. I’m one who has learned to love both. I love my books, love buying them, reading them, and sharing them. But, i’ve also come to love my kindle for many reasons, as well. I think that there is good and bad in all of it; it’s just finding a balance πŸ™‚

  6. Ah, agree to disagree. I was just like you about books (and I’ve actually used that photo from Beauty and the Beast in my own blog before! ha ha). I refused to embrace e-readers even though I worked in publishing and my job was converting our books INTO e-books. I loved holding books, smelling old book pages, and having the weight of what I was reading in my hands. I was SO against e-readers!

    …until my hubby bought me a Kindle Fire for Christmas last year. I’m in love with it! I can take DOZENS, if not hundreds, of books with me when I travel (and magazines .. and neflix). I don’t have to worry about a reading light, I can lend books and share with friends, and my Kindle allows me to highlight words I don’t know and will look them up for me in the dictionary.

    I have the best of both words. I still read physical books, but I love my Kindle too. Don’t knock it until you try it. SERIOUSLY!

  7. I LOOOOVE actual books. They are the best. I would prefer an actual book than an electronic one. It’s so hard to find your spot if you’re using an iPad and you touch the screen a few times. LOL

  8. I agree with the gf! It seems like with so much of the planned obsolescence that goes along with today’s technology, the eReaders (is the lowercase “e” to uppercase “R” really necessary?) miss that lasting quality that books have. There’s just something in that ink pressed on paper -that permanence. It not only impacts me the reader with a sense of lasting ownership, but is a commitment to reading the way the writer supposed I would when the words were born -with an intimacy of touch and smell. It bridges the distance between author and reader. …Don’t get me wrong I get the problems it solves, and I see how it might add an opportunity to move libraries to remote people throughout the world. I just feel like it is somewhat schizophrenic to be touching the same “thing” when I read Whitman’s “As I Ponder’d In Silence” as when I read “Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs.”

  9. I love books for all the reasons you’ve mentioned, but I adore my e-reader. So much so, that my kids have them too. We take them everywhere. I always have a couple of hundred books to choose from, they always have books (working on their collections) to choose from. With our current living situation, there isn’t a speck of space that isn’t taken up with furniture or clothes or what not and so having an e-reader is really the only way new books are coming in to this house to stay for now. Of course, we also use the library. And this reminds me my books are overdue. Crap.

Leave a Reply

