DIY: Crochet Scarf

I know I talked about it briefly a bit ago, but I wanted to show off the scarf I crocheted!! I taught myself to crochet using a silly newbies crochet book from Michael’s and this was the first project! I definitely could improve, but it is so cute and pink in person! Super proud of my first finished crochet project!

8 responses to “DIY: Crochet Scarf

  1. Karen @ The Quiet Owl

    Yay! Good for you!!! If you’re anything like me, you’ll end up with like 20 different scarves to wear this winter!

  2. I should show you my first crochet project sometime.There is a reason it was also my last.

  3. Awesome job! I’ve been crocheting for a while now, and I still feel like a beginner…I’m really good at making hats 🙂

    Xo,
    Eeka

  4. You are too cute! And I can’t believe you managed to crochet a whole scarf! That must have taken forever. I tried crocheting for a little while and made a few coasters but I guess I got bored with it because I never made anything else (Even though I had plans to make a billion other things like hats, scarfs, and blankets) Anyway, love your blog

    ❤ Mims @ http://thegiantcloud.blogspot.com

  5. 1. Some people hold the crochet hook like a pencil. Others hold the crochet hook like a spoon. I personally hold it like a spoon. Do whatever is comfortable for you. Crochet should be enjoyable. 2. The first thing you need to do with any crochet pattern is to tie a slipknot. Tie a Slipknot for Crochet 3. Next, you will chain stitch. All crochet patterns begin with a chain stitch. Look to the specific pattern to learn how many chain stitches to make. If you are just learning and not following any specific pattern, simply chain 15 and move to the next step. Crochet a Chain Stitch 4. A crochet pattern will tell you what type of yarn to use, what type of hook to use and what type of stitch to make after you have created the chain stitch. Two of the simplest crochet stitches are the single and double crochet stitches. This is a good stitch for beginners. All the patterns on this page were made using a double crochet stitch or single crochet stitch. To get started with your crochet stitch, you will begin by working back across the chain you just made. Choose one of the stitch instructions below to get started: Single Crochet Stitch Double Crochet Stitch 5. The tension you use during crochet, the size of the hook you use, and the weight of the yarn influences the size of the stitch and outcome of the pattern. Many beginners don’t allow enough slack in the yarn as they crochet. Pull the yarn loose from the ball and make sure it is not pulling as you crochet. 6. When crocheting a single or double stitch, you stitch through the top loops of the previous row of stitches. You can change the appearance of finished project by changing the way you stitch through the loops on the previous row. Stitching through only one loop creates a ridge pattern (seen in the potholder below). Stitching through both loops creates a flat pattern.

Leave a Reply

