30 Before 30: Have a Job I Love

Having a job I love is so important to me. I can’t imagine living a life, day in and day out, spending most of my time in a job that I absolutely abhor. Most of my post-college career has been like that. In and out of jobs I disliked and hated, jobs where I was being mistreated or under-appreciated. My potential was not being utilized to it’s full ability and it made me complacent. I felt like I was going nowhere, I constantly felt the urge to turn around and run away from the careers that were suffocating me.

Until this job.

I have been technical writing for military systems, writing Operator’s Manuals, proofing, copy-editing, and overall just doing the supposed “grunt-work” of writing. AND IT HAS BEEN INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!

Not only do I love copy-editing and proofing, crossing our T’s and dotting our I’s, but I’m actually writing for my career. I’m being fully utilized and appreciated. My supervisors have let me know how invaluable I have become and how quickly I’ve caught on. I’m trusted and my thoughts on how the manuals are constructed are considered. Nobody undermines me and makes me feel like my job is lesser than theirs. I’m just as integral a part of the team as anyone else and I do not go unnoticed.

I really cannot say enough about loving my job. It’s really shed a new light on what life can be like when you feel respected at work as much as I am at home. I’m smitten with the job and I doubt I could ever go back to being misused in the workplace.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that words cannot express how blessed I feel to be 26 yrs old and to love my job.

3 responses to “30 Before 30: Have a Job I Love

  1. Karen @ The Quiet Owl

    That’s great! Having a horrible job really does ruin your life. I’m so glad you found one that makes you happy!

  2. What a great blog you have here, girl! So full of life, humor and honest sharing. You rock! thanks for shaing!

  3. Pingback: 30 Before 30: UPDATE |

Leave a Reply

