One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest: A Review

One_Flew_Over_the_Cuckoo's_NestKen Kesey‘s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest was not at all what I was suspecting. I really enjoyed the film with Jack Nicholson and thought that the novel would be a pretty sharp portrayal of what mental institutions used to be. It was more a tale told by Chief Browden, a patient of the ward attended my McMurphy.

I was supremely disappointed with the storytelling devices utilized by Kesey. I really expected the novel to be a deeper look into the psyche of McMurphy, but it ended up being more about the messed up way things are/were run in a mental health facility.

I hate to say it, but I was not into this novel a bit. I read 2/3rds of the way through and kept dreading reading it, so I chalked it up to being a not very gripping novel. 2 stars, not into it, but it made an excellent film.

Leave a Reply

