The Silver Linings Playbook: A Review

silver linings

What a thoroughly puzzling novel! The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick was not at all what I was expecting. I did not watch the movie… thought I’d read the novel first. I adore Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, so I really thought I’d dig the novel.

It’s about Pat Peoples, a recent patient of “the bad place” which is how Pat refers to the mental home he lived in for the past 4 years. He has completely blocked out the memories of what led to his being sent to “the bad place”, but he is finally released and allowed to move home to his parents house in New Jersey.

Working on his familial relationships, he ends up meeting his brother Ronnie’s daughter Emily [whom he has never met before] and wife, Veronica, as well as Veronica’s sister Tiffany. Tiffany is a recent widow around Pat’s age and Ronnie tries to set them up. Pat is only interested in friendship, as he believes he is still married to Nikki.

The friendship between Pat and Tiffany is such an odd centerpoint. They are extremely flawed and struggling to survive their own realities. This definitely made for interesting reading and I loved the story, especially when I got about halfway through the novel. The beginning was a bit slow and hard to get through, but the pay off at the end was worth it!

2 responses to “The Silver Linings Playbook: A Review

  1. This is one of those extremely rare instances where I really liked the movie a lot better than the book. That happens about one out of every 1,000 times. I found the book sometimes too redundant and thought the film did a good job of narrowing down the heart of the story. Just my 2 cents :0

  2. Pingback: The Virgin Suicides: A Review |

Leave a Reply

