The Lovely Bones: A Review

the lovely bonesThe Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold was heartbreaking and innocence shattering. I’m glad I didn’t read this in high school before I was ever hurt or jaded, I think it would’ve been too shocking for me to handle at 15.

Ironically, the story is about 14-year-old Susie Salmon who was raped and murdered by a neighbor and is in heaven watching her family deal with the tragedy of her being gone. Susie’s story is about connections and relationships and how to cope with the things in life that do not make sense. It’s hard to hear a story about parents who have lost a child. I have trouble thinking about their pain and feeling it with them. Their pain is so real.

Although it was not a happy novel, I thought the story was incredibly well written. Alice Sebold knows how to reach your heart and squeeze it tight! I’m glad I read it, but you definitely have to be in the right mood to read this novel. I’d give it a 4.5 as far as writing goes!

6 responses to “The Lovely Bones: A Review

  1. I bought this last year in a books per kilo sale, but now it doesn’t sound too appealing haha. It should be good, but I’m not sure I’m up for reading the details of such a tragic death…

  2. I read this when it first came out. The only thing I remember (beside the obvious) is one of the character’s description that maybe heaven is what you need it to be most. That has stuck with me.

  3. Yes, the memoir is called Lucky. It’s about her being raped in college but it talks a lot about how it led to the Lovely Bones.

Leave a Reply

