And the Mountains Echoed: A Review

and the mountains echoedAnd the Mountains Echoed is another great novel by Khaled Hosseini. I think he must be my favorite new-to-me author of 2014. I can’t believe I ever hesitated to pick up his novels. Now they’re all in my favorites.

This novel is a bit different from the first two… the main character shifts between chapters. The story begins with Abdullah and Pari, a brother and sister who are torn apart when their parents can no longer afford to keep them both. Pari is sold to the wealthy and childless Wahdatis in Kabul. Abdullah is heartbroken at his loss. The story then shifts to Abdullah and Pari’s stepmother Parwana and her tale of sibling rivalry and jealousy that ultimately leads to her beautiful sister Masooma being paralyzed. Then the story shifts to the Wahdati’s and Pari and their life together in Kabul.

Another great narrative on life in Afghanistan. The characters were so well written and in-depth. They had flaws, but you couldn’t help but feel for each one of them in turn. Sometimes an author comes along who shocks me with their intuition on human behavior and morals, Hosseini is that kind of author. A Thousand Splendid Suns will always be my favorite of his novels, but I would DEFINITELY suggest you pick up And the Mountains Echoed, as well!

Leave a Reply

