The Maze Runner: A Review

maze runnerThe Maze Runner by James Dashner is a popular YA novel that is being made into a film. I can’t help but be interested when a young adult novel gets so much attention.

The novel begins with a young man waking up in an elevator; he does not know who is he or where he is. He only knows his name – Thomas. When the elevator opens, he finds himself among a number of other “lost boys” of sorts. None of them know why they are there or where they came from. All they know is that there is a maze right next to their home base, a maze that opens each morning and closes each night. Some of the boys are maze runners, going into the maze each day to scope it out and possibly find an escape. The maze is dangerous, though, and nobody wants to get caught inside when it closes. Everything changes when a girl comes up the mysterious elevator. Why does she look familiar to Thomas and why are they all there?

Honestly, I was bored. There were too many questions, not enough answers. And truly, I didn’t really care about any of the characters. The danger seemed lackluster and I just couldn’t get into this one, which is a shame, because I really wanted to like this one. Not recommended if you are like me and have to like the characters to enjoy a novel.

3 responses to “The Maze Runner: A Review

  1. This reminded me of Harry Potter and Hunger Games put together haha but I watched the movie and didn’t read the book.

  2. This reminded me of a mix of Harry Potter and Hunger Games for some reason. I only watched the movie, but I was also bored with it. Maybe the sequel will be better.

  3. Good review. Very honest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

